Susan Schramm


The “CMO of the Year” 2020 is fixed: Susan Schramm of McDonald´s was honoured with Germany’s highest award for the function of Chief Marketing Officer together with a donation of 10,000 euros for the McDonald's Child aid Foundation on behalf of the initiators Serviceplan Group, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Ad Alliance and Salesforce.

Susan Schramm has been responsible for McDonald´s Germany as member of the board and CMO since 2016. Susan Schramm succeeds Dr. Ian Robertson (BMW), Godo Röben (Rügenwalder Mühle), Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom), Eric Liedtke (Adidas), Karsten Kühn (Hornbach) and 2019 Tarek Müller (About You) as “CMO of the Year”.

The nominees for the “CMO of the Year” award 2020 were (in alphabetical order):

  • Martell Beck, DB Cargo
  • Boris Dolkhani, Bosch
  • Heiko Klauer, IKEA
  • Claas Meineke, EDEKA
  • Marc Opelt, OTTO
  • Susan Schramm, McDonald´s
  • Volker Weinlein, Katjes International


“It is a huge honour for me to be joining the ranks of all the other fantastic winners of this award. Although I don’t consider it as a distinction for me alone – because not only do I have the support of our strong marketing team at McDonald’s but can also count on the fantastic working relationship with colleagues, franchisees and agency partners. And so in my eyes, this is an award for us all."